Reviews - Duirinish Guesthouse

Great place - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable time here. The hosts are very helpful and kind. Strongly recommend!

Reviewer:Mr. Huang T | Mon 4th Nov 2013 | 5 years ago


Such a great vist!!! - Rating 5/5

We had such a terrific time, but it was just too short.Your hospitality from start to finish was just wonderful.We wish you much success in your retirement venture and hope you continue to enjoy meeting guest from all over the world.Joan and the "girls"from Boston.

Reviewer:Ms. Joan U | Sat 12th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 4 nights in September 2013 in this lovely B&B and really enjoyed every moment there.Ruth and Allan were also both very kind and helpful to make diner reservations for us.Our room was romantic and everything also really clean and comfortable.Great breakfast, nothing missing.Location convenient, short walk to the center of Portree. Price/quality very good.We both loved it there!

Reviewer:Mr. Jan V | Sun 6th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


a good place - Rating 4/5

the owners are very helpfullthe rooms are comfortable and very clean ;it is calm enough, altough it is situated on the main road ;the breakfast is gorgeous. the only problem is that you have to drive to go to the center of Portree.

Reviewer:Mrs. Schneider C | Thu 26th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


A Great Moment! - Rating 4/5

Warm Welcome, Comfortable Rooms and delicious breakfast! Recommended!

Reviewer:Mr. Dietrich A | Mon 23rd Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


one night stay in september - Rating 5/5

Allan and Ruth are very good hosts.They are very friendly and helpful whilst providing a very professional service.The accommodation is spotless,comfortable and thought through to the smallest detail.Breakfast was the best out of the 5 nights which we spent up-north;Plentiful,cooked to perfection.Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was just superb.

Reviewer:Mrs. Chantal F | Tue 17th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


the best feeling - Rating 5/5

it was real a wonderful home feeling in Duirinish, the couple hosts are very nice that give us lots of good information. their food is wonderful, cooking beautifully. They work hard and treat every guest as family. I love their living room and dining room ,feel so good.

Reviewer:Ms. Jia YunZ | Tue 17th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Great Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Very clean, great hospitality. You know it's top notch when they use white linens, can't hide a thing.I would stay here again.

Reviewer:Van Nieuwer B | Wed 11th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


A great stay- too brief! - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your hospitality and help. My parents and I had a great overnight stay in Portee. The guest house is gorgeous and so convenientMany thanks.

Response

It was our pleasure Emma, we are glad you and your parents enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Emma R | Tue 10th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


2 nights - Rating 5/5

Perfect B&B. Room spotless and well furnished. Easy walk into Portree. Ruth and Allan were lovely friendly hosts who took time to listen to our days stories and gave us helpful advice. We had takeaway for dinner and a table was set with a candle and soft music at no request. If we are ever back in Skye we will stay there again.

Reviewer:Ms. Carolyn F | Thu 5th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Duirinish Guesthouse very much. Ruth and Allen were lovely hosts who pay a lot of attention to their guests. The room was perfectly renovated and had a wonderful view. The picturesque centre of Portree is an easy 10 minute walk away.

Reviewer:Ms. Christel E | Sun 1st Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Perfekt - Rating 5/5

There is no way to make it better. Many thanks.Best regardsJochen

Reviewer:Mr. Jochen P | Sat 31st Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful!!! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic B&B, beautiful room, great breakfast, friendly owners and nice! thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Liviana L | Tue 27th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Highly Recommend- Rating 5/5

Great location,great hosts, very clean rooms. Highly recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph B | Mon 26th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Nice room and great hospitality - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Duirinish Guesthouse very much. The owners are friendly and helpful and gave us good advice for interesting sights and hikes. The room is not too big but cosy, nicely furnished and has a great shower. Plenty choices for breakfast.

Response

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewer:Mr. Marc Van Der V | Sun 25th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Two days too short - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay, lovely hosts, friendly and inviting, would highly recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony M | Wed 14th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


A wonderful B & B - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights at Duirinish Guest House and we enjoyed it from the first second.The welcome,very hospitable and friendly hosts very clean, nice beds, beautiful views, wonderful breakfast. Within walking distance to Portree town, fine as a starting point for excursions on the island.We can only highlight Duirinish Guest House to anyone who is coming to Skye

Response

Thank you for your kind words Winnie, we enjoyed having you stay with us, glad you enjoyed your trip.

Reviewer:Mrs. Winnie L | Tue 13th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


good location to visit Skye - Rating 4/5

we appreciated that the car is not useful to have lunch in Portreethanks to Ruth who has sent us a forgotten purse !

Reviewer:Mrs. Annie L | Tue 13th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Great! - Rating 5/5

Walking distance from restaurants in Portree, very helpful and friendly owners. We liked it a lot.

Response

Thank you for your kind words.We enjoyed having you stay with us.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maiken Victoria M | Sat 10th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable, spotlessly clean house, with great attention to detail to make guests feel welcome.Ruth &her husband were very welcoming and put us at our ease.Breakfast was excellent - wish we could have stayed longer - would definitely stay there again.

Response

We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you felt comfortable and at ease.Look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Skye.Take care.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra R | Mon 29th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


thanks - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable guesthouse,beautiful gardens and very lovely host!.it was very clean and the breakfast delicious.excellent

Response

Thank you Maria for your very kind comments.It was lovely having you stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. María De Castro A | Sat 27th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


großartig - Rating 5/5

während unserer 2-Wochen-Rundfahrt haben wir viel b&b gesehen bzw. erlebt. Ruth und Alan's Haus gehört zu den besten;sowohl vom Interieur als auch von der Lage und ganz besonders vom Service. Thanks for all.

Response

It was our pleasure so glad you enjoyed your stay.Translation:'during our 2-week tour we have seen and experienced a lot of b & b. Ruth and Alan \ 's house is one of the best, both from the interior and from the location and especially the service. Thanks for all '

Reviewer:Mr. Peter T | Thu 11th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


A very good adress on skye - Rating 5/5

It was a very kind and gorgeus time!! Next time on skye it will be the first adress for us.

Response

Thank you.We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Andrea F | Thu 11th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Super - Rating 5/5

very cosy and absolutly clean place with good sized room and bathroom.Sympathic proprietairies always ready to helpyou

Response

Thank you for your kind words Patrick.We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Reviewer:Mr. Patrick P | Thu 27th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


GREAT ! - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant two night stay [June 2013]and made to feel welcome.Our hosts were born for this job.Good humour and very helpful.Come and go as you please.Comfortable room,good breakfast,guest lounge. Quiet situation even though on a main road [everywhere is peaceful on Skye] Would definately stay again.Few minutes drive from town centre. Plenty of eating places,can recommend the Granary which they booked for us. Well pleased !!

Response

Hi Graham and Linda,Many thanks for your complimentary review, it was our pleasure to ensure your stay was as enjoyable as possible.Take care.Ruth & Allan.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham B | Mon 24th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

08/06 <==>14/06Ruth &Alan, thanks for the perfect stay, friendly hospitality en service. Even the good weather during our stay must have been a part of the B&B :-) We would recommend this warm house to everyone ! Luc &Carine Belgium

Response

Dear Luc and CarineWe are glad you enjoyed your stay and the weather was kind to you!We enjoyed having you stay with us and thank you in advance for any recommendations you may send our way :-)Kindest regards.Allan & Ruth.

Reviewer:Mr. Luc G | Sun 23rd Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Stefano&Donatella - Rating 4/5

Bellissima Skye e molto carina la Duirinish Guesthouse e i proprietari, che sono stati molto disponibli nonostante il nostro scarso inglese.

Response

Translation:Beautiful Skye and the very pretty Duirinish Guesthouse and the owners, who were very Available despite our poor English.Thank you for your very kind review.It was our pleasure having you stay with us.Allan and Ruth.

Reviewer:Mr. Stefano Del P | Tue 18th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

The owners of this spotless guesthouse cannot do enough for you.It is well situated within a short walk of Portree town centre also.Thank you so much

Response

Hi James and Becky, thank you for your kind words here and on tripadvisor.It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Island.

Reviewer:Mr. James C | Mon 17th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


lovely place - Rating 5/5

We were very satisfied about your accomodation and perfect breakfast. You are very friendly hosts and we wish you good luck with your b&b. We hope to come back once!

Response

Dear Karin, thank you for your kind words.It was a pleasure having you stay with us.Glad you enjoyed your stay.Look forward to welcoming you back again.Allan & Ruth.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karin D | Wed 12th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

As a group of 4 adults, we stayed there for 5 nights.Allan and Ruth offered a very warm welcome, gave us plenty of advice on what to do and where to go, booked for us restaurants and ferry and they took good care of us (even drying our laundry).The rooms (double room and twin room) were spotless clean and very comfortable with good size bathroom and a powerful shower (very much appreciated after a full-day walk).they offered a wide variety for breakfast to choose the evening before. we had to fill the form wih our choices by 8pm but after walks longer than expected, we were very often back at the B&B around 11pm and submitted the form then, but it was not an issue at all for the great hosts. plenty of choices for the full-filling breakfast with the possibility to mix/match between scottish, continental and egg breakfast.the B&B is perfectly located in Portree, 10min walk from the port and main restaurants and centrally located in the Isle of Skye, making it the perfect starting point to explore every corner of the island.We had a wonderful stay and we would definitely come there again for a next visit in the Isle of Skye. We would highly recommend this B&B without any doubt.

Response

Thank you for your wonderful review we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and glad we were able to help to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tifelle R | Mon 3rd Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Pleasant B&B - Rating 4/5

A nice couple moved from Edinburgh and modernized a B&B, providing good bath facilities, excellent wireless internet, and a good breakfast.They also arranged for a window table at the Rosedale Restaurant overlooking the harbor.Be prepared for smallish rooms, otherwise highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian H | Sat 1st Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


FANTASTIC !! - Rating 4/5

The house was great. The treatment of Ruth and her husband was very good.Environment .... can not think of an adjective to describe these landscapes.We would have liked to have stayed a couple of days more.Thank you very much for the treatment received.

Response

Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer:Mr. Ignacio R | Wed 29th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Comfy bed! - Rating 4/5

Just a 10min walk into town, this is a traditional guest house run by a friendly couple. Good breakfast and room has envy thing you need.

Response

Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracey E | Thu 23rd May 2013 | 5 years ago


Perect stay! - Rating 5/5

I would like to remark that we felt like at home. Perfect room and better owners!!

Response

Thank you glad you enjoyed your stay.Come back again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Juan De Zavala G | Tue 21st May 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hosts, beautiful cosy room and generous breakfast options - can only recommend this B&B!

Response

Thank you for your kinds comments Nadja.

Reviewer:Mr. Nadja W | Tue 14th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Best B&B - Rating 5/5

Wonderful location, within walking distance of everything. Accommodation and hosts the best. Food fantastic. Loved our stay.

Response

Thanks guys we enjoyed having you stay with us.Hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday.Take care.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie G | Thu 9th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Highly recommend.Quiet, peaceful area, nice bedroom and bathroom.Really good breakfast lots of choice.owners very helpful

Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us review your comments are very much appreciated.

Reviewer:Mr. Krzysztof J | Mon 6th May 2013 | 5 years ago


ENJOYABLE - Rating 5/5

WE HAD A VERY ENJOYABLE STAY AND WE WERE MADE TO FEEL AT HOME. THE BREAKFAST WAS GREAT AND I WOULD RECOMMEND THE GUEST HOUSE TO ANYONE.

Response

Thank you, it was our pleasure having you both stay with us.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter S | Fri 3rd May 2013 | 5 years ago


PO - Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality.

Reviewer:Mr. Paride O | Wed 3rd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Feeling like in home. - Rating 5/5

First of all I want to thank the hosts for a lovely stay in their guest house.They solved all our issues in the best way possible.They even prepared the dinning room for us with music, candles... for eating take away food!Breakfast were very good and tasty. Everything we needed they got it for us.We only regret not having more time to know them better.With no doubt we will choose it again when we go to Skye island next time.

Response

Dear Ivan & MariaThank you for your lovely review we very much enjoyed having you stay with us and it would be a pleasure to have you back again.Kindest regards Ruth & Allan.

Reviewer:Mr. Ivan N | Mon 11th Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


My Portree Home! - Rating 5/5

Could not have found a finer place to stay.Felt totally at home with wonderful hosts!Everything was perfect from location to great breakfasts!Highly recommend!

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay with us David, thoroughly enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again soon.Allan and Ruth.

Reviewer:Mr. David F | Sat 1st Dec 2012 | 6 years ago


Thank you! - Rating 5/5

We had a warm welcome and a very enjoyable stay with Ruth and Allan. The room and en suite bathroom were very clean and comfortable, the breakfast choices were great and the porridge excellent! We will certainly return to this magical part of the world!

Response

Thank you for your kinds words.It was a pleasure having you stay with us.Hopefully we will see you again when you return to Skye.Regards Ruth and Allan.

Reviewer:Ms. Margaret & Klaus K | Sat 3rd Nov 2012 | 6 years ago